The Battle Over Tribal Sovereignty


Each of the 573 federally recognized Native American tribes in the United States has its own unique culture and history, but they all share one common denominator: They are sovereign nations. This is a core principle of how tribes live, operate and govern themselves, but sadly, not everyone respects tribal sovereignty, despite centuries of U.S. Supreme Court and lower court precedent recognizing these powers.

Click here for full article